Log Cabin Inn:
Cook Forest's environmental learning center is a large log building built in 1934
by the CCC. It is at one end of Longfellow trailand contains a variety of displays,
taxidermy animals and logging tools from early lumbering days.
©2009 - Kevin Kaltenbaugh
On March 31, 1933, President Franklin D. Roosevelt created the Civilian Conservation
Corps (CCC). The purpose of the CCC was to provide employment and restore our
nation's natural resources.
In 1934, CCC Camp SP-2 was built in the present-day River
Cabins area along River Road. A typical CCC camp had barracks, a mess hall, bathhouses,
and other structures. This camp housed 200 enrollees and staff until 1937 when
it closed, and the buildings were razed and used to construct CCC Camp SP-6 at
Racoon Creek State Park in Beaver County.
A large wayside intercepts CCC Camp SP-2 and is where the
camp once stood within the River Picnic area.
Work of the CCC in Cook Forest Still remains. Indian and River
cabins were built, trails and roads constructed and forest resources preserved
by these hard working men.
During the nine years of existence, the CCC nationwide employed
three million young men and produced conservation work valued at over $1.5 billion!
Sawmill Historical Room:
Built in 1949, this electric powered mill operated for a little over one year
to saw salvage cut timber from the park. Most of the earlier mills were water
driven and found along Tom's Run. Located next to the swimming pool, the Sawmill
houses displays and a gift shop for a local arts and craft organization. Offers
fascinating displays of logging and rafting tools, models, and other artifacts.